Rating: 
Amazon Price: $149.99 $119.95 You save: $30.04 (20%). (as of October 1, 2014 12:12 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

GE X550 Power Pro Series Bridge Digital Camera with an Electronic View Finder, Optical Image Stabilization, 16MP, 15X Optical Zoom, 2.7-Inch Auto Brightness LCD, 27mm Wide Angle Lens and advanced features including Object Tracking, HDR+, Shutter & Aperture Priority modes, Program mode, Auto Scene, Panorama, Smile & Blink Detection, Face Detection & AE, Red-Eye Removal, High Dynamic Range. Power by AA Battery.

Technical Details

  • Brand Name: : GE
  • Model: : X550-BK
  • Optical Sensor Resolution: : 16 MP
  • Optical zoom: : 15 x
  • Minimum focal length: : 4.9

Product Details

  • Product Dimensions: 2.6 x 4 x 2.9 inches ; 14.4 ounces
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S.
  • ASIN: B008HVZY1E
  • Item model number: X550-BK
  • Batteries: 4 AA batteries required. (included)
  • Date first available at Amazon.com: July 17, 2012

Customer Reviews

I really give this camera 4 1/2 stars

 December 4, 2013
By Bobbie Ann Johnson
I used to to be very much into photography, my first “real” camera was a TLR (twin lens reflex) that used 120 film, after that I graduated to 35mm SLR’s but some where overtime I lost interest in photography. But about three years ago I started to become interested in photography again, I looked into going back to a 35mm camera but from my research it looks like (most) film cameras are going the way of the dinosaurs so I looked at DSLR cameras and found they are way, way out of my price range so I looked at digital bridge cameras. Now to be honest I did not know that GE made cameras and when I first saw one I bypassed it and went to the name brand cameras that I knew such as Pentax but for some reason I decided to check out the GE Power Pro X550 camera I did my research and liked its features and the price.
Now the camera…………the 15X zoom is equal to a 405mm telephoto lens for a 35mm SLR camera.

You can either use the digital screen on the back of the camera or use the viewfinder (like a SLR camera) which I Love to compose and then shoot your pictures.

The controls are easy to use, if I can figure them out anyone can.

The camera feels right in my hands.

The Camera is not overly heavy when I have it hanging around my neck.

The bottom line is you are getting a lot of camera at a very good price.
Is it better than a $1,000.00 DSLR? I can’t answer that because if I had $1,000.00 I would buy new tires for my car and pay some bills.
On that I will tell you this, if you want a camera that has some of the features of a SLR and a DSLR camera at a very good price then check this camera out, it packs a lot of bang for the buck.

This is a follow up and what more I have learned about this camera.
The more I use this camera the more I love it and I do not understand why some of the reviews are not very good.

First off I figured out the fish eye setting and it is really cool, when you turn the wheel to SCN you will see on the display screen on the back of the camera 20 different scene modes the fish eye setting is on the bottom row, after you set it for fish eye then make sure you turn on the marco setting so you can get in real close and you are set.
I have tried to take some pictures of my Diva of a cat but when she sees the camera she takes off, what a spoiled brat she is but I love her just as she is.

Second is the panorama setting this one is a little tricky and you will need either steady hands or better yet a tripod. when you turn the wheel to the panorama setting (the stretched rectangle) you then have a choice of either panning the camera left to right or right to left but you only have a few seconds to decide of the camera will choose for you. After you have chosen your pan direction you will take your first picture, now this is where the steady hands or the tripod come in, after you take your first picture you will see on the display screen a circle with “crosshairs” in it, you will also see a line that runs from the circle to a box, your job is to move the circle by panning the camera into the box BUT the circle MUST stay on that line, if you did it right when the circle goes into the box the camera will automatically take a second picture and then you must repeat getting the circle into the box. Through trial and error I managed to do it right a couple of times and if you are going to pan the camera while holding it you are much better off using the display screen and not the electronic viewfinder.

Also you might consider buying a 2.7″ glass LCD screen protector they sell them here at Amazon for between $5.00 and $6.00 just as another layer of protection. As well as a good quality camera bag such as the Zeikos medium size camera (which I have reviewed here also) it is a very good camera bag at a fantastic price.

If you are going to invest the money into this camera then (if you are like me…poor)
you want it to last a good long time. I am very, very happy with this camera it is loaded for bear with lots of features that a lot of cameras in the same price range or even more expensive do not have such as the EFV. Is it perfect no of course not but you can spend a thousand dollars on a Nikon or a Pentax or another big name camera and finds things you do not like either.
I do not see ever buying another camera so I want to make sure this one will be around for a long time.

Here is something else to consider, you can go out and spend a ton of money on a DSLR camera such as a Nikon, a Canon, a Pentax and you will find something or somethings about that camera that you will not like, you can go online and find plenty of reviews for (again) Nikon, Canon, Pentax or other big name cameras that are negative NO camera is perfect but for the money this GE X550 digital camera is in my opinion a very good deal.
There are very few cameras in this price range that have as many features that this camera has such as a EVF (electronic veiwfinder).
So read all the reviews (good and bad) go online and do some research and then decide but as someone who has been in photography to one degree or another for about 50 years I feel this is a very good camera and I am glad I own one.

I was hoping that I could add a couple of pictures that I took of “Big Gray” a cat that hangs around, I took some pictures of him while I was inside my place through my sliding glass door while he was laying on “Sammi” my Saturn VUE but I guess I am not able to add the pictures, I wanted you to see how good the focus is and how clear the pictures are and these pictures were taken at the lowest pixel setting which is 0.3m or as they call it the email setting.

GE X550 Unexpexted excellence SLR..

 November 7, 2012
By Albert Abrantes
I have mine now for more than a month.I had some issues at first during the initial 30 day period.I almost returned it.Luckily I did not,it has some zoom and focus issues that it needs consistencies.But I was able to address those issues with some patience and knowing more about settings of the camera.It’s not like any usual digital camera you’ll be up for a surprise.In fact I believe it qualifies for an DSLR digital camera.And another thing the camera comes with softwares which you may forget but don’t.You’ll be able to do a lot of things with your photos.Amazing things.Battery issue I suggest you use a rechargeable batteries it will last longer up to 500 photos.On Zoom and focus it performs well at certain right distance but near shots adding zoom closeups it does not focus well.Another thing it also has a fish eye lens setting which other cameras don’t have you’ll be amazed with the zoom and focus at this settings adding HD mode at 12 mp incredible.The camera features doesn’t state well it’s capabilities but it’s more than what it’s being stated.And it focused just right.Another thing it states that it’s focal length is only 405 millimeter but it’s not it’s more than that.It’s 15x optical zoom and 6x digital zoom beat my 14mp 576 millimeter camera on zoom photos.After I did a distance zoom test.So this one is definitely not only 405 millimeter on it’s focal length.So there that’s my excellent findings and opinion with my GE X550 digital DSLR Camera.Lastly it’s 15x zoom feature and 6x digital zoom feature engaged my Sony’s 57x zoom feature in equal closeness and clarity.Had I not discovered it’s fish eye setting for photos adding HD mode I would have said this one lost to my Sony 7.2mp camera by a slim margin.And I m still finding out new surprises from this camera.Next time I ‘ll buy a GE X600.And thanks to my old war games friend of mine for insisting I buy this one, before any other camera.

Not bad but not great either.

 August 1, 2013
By Risha
I like the camera. I love that is has a panorama setting. I was expecting a little more from it but then again for the price I should not have such high expectations.

I had a few issues with this camera,

1. You have the setting on 16MP but it still only takes 7MP which is quite annoying. So don’t expect every picture you take to be 16MP or even 10MP.

2. The LCD screen could be better. You can’t really get the full details of the picture on this like you can with other cameras that are older than this one.

3. The focus on this is just horrible. You have to fiddle with the different modes in order to figure out what mode is best for taking pictures of different items. The auto focus does not help at all. The auto mode almost never focuses correctly so just be prepared for that before you go on thinking your camera is broken. Don’t worry it’s not.

Those are my main issues with the camera. Don’t get me wrong though I like the camera and if you love taking pictures like I do I would suggest this to any beginner looking to get into photography or who just want better pictures. I do recommend that you get rechargeable batteries. Trust me it will save you tons of money. If you love taking pictures then rechargeable batteries are a must. You can get about 300-400 pictures on one charge without flash, video taking, deleting pictures, etc. You get less than that on normal batteries maybe 200 if you’re lucky. Bring back up batteries with you if you plan on being out all day with your camera because it is likely it won’t last that long.

Excellent Camera at the right price

 December 29, 2012
By Kenny J
I almost brought a NIKON version of this camera before I came across a review for it. I also considered Fujifilm, but was sold with this cameras internal memory and eyepiece viewfinder. All other features are similar to the Nikon but this has a better price.

So far, so good

 April 23, 2014
By Unez_rdr
I’ve had this for about a week now, got the white-trimmed one. Worked well out of the box, no problems with shipping etc. No damage to camera box or shipping box, was delivered with the free shipping option.
It’s quite a novelty having a GE camera – everyone is astonished that GE makes a camera! From the admittedly few shots I’ve taken with the ‘fish-eye’ option, I don’t know how useful it will be. It’s a digital effect, and you may get better results with a photo editing software altering a ‘normal’ picture.
Zoom is nice, though you have to brace yourself to minimize hand shake, but if you started out with film cameras as I did, and have a basic technique already to steady the camera, no unexpected problems.
After using a digital camera for some years, framing shots with the video screen on the back, it’s nice to be able to turn on the SLR-like electronic viewfinder, and I’m guessing it saves on battery life as well. Regarding battery life, I’ve been fiddling with the settings and trying to figure things out quite a bit, and taken about 100 pictures, with no decrease in battery power registered on the power meter (another nice feature after having to guess when my batteries were about to fail!).
I chose the GE X-550 because it had nearly all the features I wanted in a camera at a reasonable price, and so far, I have not been disappointed. Being able to set the film speed, aperture, and shutter speed is sweet, though I am still figuring it out. Example – I was taking pictures at a meeting the other day, and decided to try setting the camera up as I would have for a film camera without using a flash. Film speed 400, F4.5, shutter speed of 1/60 – any slower and there will be noticeable hand shaking often. Snapped a test shot, and the picture was all white – way overexposed! Decreased film ISO, still white! Ended up setting it to Auto as the meeting was starting, and the pictures turned out fine, without a flash, interior, with the lights dimmed during a slide presentation. Very nice! I can only assume that once I get things figured out with the X-550, I will be taking really nice pictures under any lighting conditions.
Summary – if you’re looking for a camera with some pro features without spending you kid’s college fund on it, give the GE X-550 a try.

Great price, great camera!

 December 28, 2013
By raelene boudreau
I was a bit skeptical after reading reviews of the pictures being blurred with the long distance zoom. I took pictures more than 20 feet away, and my pictures were clear, sharp, and no blurriness. A person must read the manual before using the camera and be familiar with the settings. Also, when taking pictures, as with many cameras, you must push the shutter button down half way for the camera to focus then finish pushing down the button after the focus; otherwise, you will get a blurry picture.

You will love this camera, we do.

 December 6, 2013
By Don C Gottschalk
It is getting very hard to fine a nice camera with an electronic viewfinder. Without one it is almost impossible to shoot outside in the sun. This one has one. I did find that rechargeable nicad batteries were a waste of money. I only got 35 pictures with them. Duracell Pro cells (also sold at Amazon) show no ware after over 200 pictures. My neighbor used my new camera on my patio and the next day when I had cropped and printed the pictures she took and showed that to her, she wint on line to Amazon and ordered one , a case of Pro cells and a camera case. She just got it, I have black so she got white, and she loves it. We rate it at six (6) stars. Also I have to mention the wide angle lens, Fantastic.

Great for the price

 October 27, 2013
By Amazon Customer
Would have given 5 stars but hate that the manual is on cd or online. Makes it very difficult if you are out and do not have access. Otherwise takes great pics and I am still learning all the settings.

Good Camera!

 January 24, 2014
By Amazon Customer
I’m not a photographer.

This is not a large camera, but it is shaped in such a way that it is easy to hold onto. Smaller rectangular cameras seem to drop out of my hands. Plus, this camera has lots of features and is easy to manage. I like the zoom, the flash, and the way that regular batteries seem to last a pretty decent amount of time.

A good beginner camera for this 59-year-old man! Love it!

New Camera

 July 2, 2013
By Lindy in the High Desert
It is a little bigger than expected, but has so many great features. Love it. The choices of what you are choosing is phenomenal.