• Garmin GPS V Waterproof Hiking GPS
  • Garmin GPS V
  • Garmin Foretrex 401 Waterproof Hiking GPS Amazon Sale -57%
  • Garmin GPS V Personal Navigator
  • Garmin Foretrex 401 Waterproof Hiking GPS – Pros & Cons
  • Garmin fenix vs the Garmin foretrex an Outdoor GPS Watch Comparison
  • Garmin Dakota 20 Hiking GPS Device Review
  • Garmin eTrex Handheld Outdoor GPS demonstration
  • Garmin Fenix Hiking GPS Watch unboxing review explains why people buy Garmin Fenix Hiking GPS Watch
  • Garmin Dakota GPS Tutorial 1–Basic Operation
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $349.99 (as of unknown date – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Get help getting there with the rugged and waterproof GPS V Personal Navigator. This compact, handheld unit looks up a location and automatically calculates a route, guiding you to your destination with turn-by-turn directions and audible beeps. Features a WAAS-enabled, 12 parallel channel GPS receiver that continually tracks and uses up to 12 satellites to compute and update your position, plus a trip computer with re-settable odometer, timers, and average and maximum speed indicators. Includes MapSource City Select CD that gives you access to detailed, street-level maps with locations of restaurants, hotels and other services in the U.S. and metro areas of Canada. 19 MB internal memory allows you to store data from this CD, plus information from optional MapSource CDs (sold separately). Also features variable screen orientation; dedicated zoom in/out keys; rocker pad designed for easy, one-hand operation; high-resolution screen with backlighting and built-in celestial tables. Stores 500 waypoints and 20 reversible routes. Includes a portable antenna, PC interface cable, 12V adapter cable and automotive mount. Weighs 9 oz. Imported. 5Lx2-1/3Wx1-3/5H".

Customer Reviews

Good hardware, mediocre maps

57 people found this helpful
 on December 7, 2002
By Giuseppe A. Paleologo
This is the second Garmin GPS I own, the other being an eTrex Vista, and the first with road navigation capabilities. In my previous experience with Garmin, I was happy both with the product and the product support, and I was not disappointed this time. The user interface of the GPS is even more intuitive than the eTrex, and buttons and screen pass the test with flying colors. The software is robust, and it never crashed. Syncing with the PC is a piece of cake, and information such as waypoints can be transferred among different Garmin GPS.

GPS V Deluxe experience from a NeverLost user

35 people found this helpful
 on September 8, 2002
By Wins
My first encounter with GPS is from Hertz car rental about 3 years ago. It helps me to navigate through the dark winding country road of New Jersey in the winter evenings. With turn-by turn voice prompt, it is an amazing tool. The only draw back is the [price] price tag, which is a lot more than I want to pay.

Two Thumbs Up!

32 people found this helpful
 on August 15, 2002
By B. Kohler
For anyone who wrote a not so great review of the previous GPS V product, Garmin has just released the deluxe version of the GPS V. You get an unlock code for the entire country now (previously you only got to unlock certain areas and had to pay get additonal unlock codes).

A very satisfied user

34 people found this helpful
 on September 3, 2002
By Seattle Reader
I purchased the Garmin GPS V in anticipation of two 3-day trips into areas I had never traveled. The detailed maps that were supplied on the CD were excellent and accurate. Before I left on the trips, I checked out the detail on the streets of Seattle, WA, because the many steep hills provide unusual angled streets with many turns. The map followed them all and accurately named them. I was impressed. I was even more impressed when I traveled into the back country of the Olympic peninsula and, arriving at an intersection of two country roads, found that the GPS V maps named both of them correctly. I’ll never travel without it again.

Garmin GPS V Deluxe

46 people found this helpful
 on June 5, 2003
By Tim C. Watson
This is my 4th GPS unit and the most capable of the 4. Initially the GPS V is very similar to the GPS III Plus (I have a eTrex Legend and GPS 38 as well), the screen pages include satellite, map and position, the GPS III+ has a couple more. The thing that sets the GPS V apart is the City Select Map CD (included), which was designed for the GPS V. The GPS V has 19MB of user loadable map memory, be aware that the map loading is NOT a quick process. I selected about 18MB worth of maps and loading that to the GPS V took approx. 45 minutes; don’t start this on low batteries. Once maps are loaded the GPS V will display at the top the upcoming streets. If you ask the GPS V to “FIND” a waypoint it can give you turn by turn instructions. When a “FIND” is active you also get a 4th page that is just the next few “upcoming turns”. While the V has the look and feel of the III+ the internal software is more like the eTrex Legend I own, i.e. more icons and a few more features than the III+. The GPS V includes a car lighter adapter and PC Interface cable. In Summary I am VERY HAPPY with the V Deluxe, the only downside is the long map load time. I have loaded maps for the following areas; Cincinnat OH, Dayton OH, Columbus OH and Lexington KY so if I stay within that area I shouldn’t need to load maps often. My III+ now rides on my motorcycle and my Legend is my GeoCaching device. Things have come a long way since the GPS 38.

WONDERFUL NAVIGATION TOOL

25 people found this helpful
 on November 6, 2002
By AK
I installed this GPS in my car and use it daily. GPS’s have come a long way in the past couple of years. This unit has a rapid acquisition time and very good monochrome display. I drive through rural areas and as long as you load the detailed maps for that region, the GPS will do a great job of selecting a route and finding just about any address. It did well in the dense city too. If you use the GPS at night, you really need to use the car’s power instead of battery. You can do this by hardwiring the unit into the car or using the supplied cigarette lighter adapter. It is difficult to see the display in the evenings and at night without the background light. The refresh rate of the unit is acceptable, just barely though. Once you give the unit a destination, it does a wonderful job beeping and giving you ample warning that a turn is coming up. In future generations of this unit, it needs more RAM, larger display, and faster processor. But, I find it a great navigation tool and doubt that I will get lost using it.

Best of both!

14 people found this helpful
 on January 3, 2003
We love this gizmo! We use it both for its navigation capability and we also use it for geocaching – you get both options in one small, easy to use package.

expect the unexpected with the Garmin 5

30 people found this helpful
 on September 24, 2002
By Nathan Crook
I drive 40,000 miles a year and have had plenty of opportunities to use the GPS on the road, however the main use is for forestry related work (marking waypoints, measurements,roads,etc..) I believe it is most useful when PLANNING a trip, if you have a specific hotel you would like to stay at you can find the info, such as address and phone # in your GPS and call the hotel, same with national/state parks. There doesn’t seem to be a way to find any info at your destination site though, not until you reach the area at anyrate. So you can set your course to LA, but you can’t plan on what lodging is available or food until you get there.
http://reviewselectronic.com/wp-content/uploads/41ABS3K5Q6L.jpghttp://reviewselectronic.com/wp-content/uploads/41ABS3K5Q6L-125x95.jpgLathif SamaCar Electronics & GPS010-00226-03,garmen,Garmin,global positioning,gpx five,mapping,navigationGet help getting there with the rugged and waterproof GPS V Personal Navigator. This compact, handheld unit looks up a location and automatically calculates a route, guiding you to your destination with turn-by-turn directions and audible beeps. Features a WAAS-enabled, 12 parallel channel GPS receiver that continually tracks and...ReviewsElectronic.com is your home for the best unbiased reviews of electronic products. Such as computers, digital cameras, mobile phones, household products and more.