Rating: 
Amazon Price: $499.99 $439.99 You save: $60.00 (12%). (as of April 24, 2014 1:10 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Ultraportable Touchscreen Notebook – Powerful Intel Core i3 processor – HD touch screen display allows users to take advantage of the new touch optimized -Windows 8 operating system – 500GB hard drive provides ample storage -Super-Speed USB3.0 port Key Specifications Genuine Windows 8 Intel Core i3-3217U Processor 11.6 HD Multitouch Display 4GB DDR3 System Memory 500GB HDD 802.11n WiFi Specs: Operating System: Windows8 Home (64-bit) Processor: Intel Core i3-3217U Processor Processor Speed: 1.8GHz Precessor Cache: 3MB L3 Cache Bus Speed: 1333MHz Memory: 4GB System Memory (DDR3) Max supported = 4GB Video Graphics: UMA Hard Drive: 500GB HDD Multimedia Drive: N/A Display: 11.6 HD Capacitive Multitouch Webcam: 1.0MP Microphone: Yes Bluetooth: No Network Card: 10/100/1000 Mbps Fast Ethernet Wireless Option: 802.11n WiDi Capable: No Digital Media: MMC+SD(SDHC/SDXC) Audio: 2W Stereo SonicMaster speakers Keyboard: Non-Backlit Chiclet Pointing Device: Built-in Touchpad External Notebook Ports: 1x Headphone-out & Audio-in Combo Jack 1x HDMI 1x VGA 2x USB 2.0 1x USB 3.0 Finish: Steel Grey Hairline Dimensions: 11.9(L) x 7.9(W) x 0.9(D) Weight: 3.1bs Battery: 4 hours and 13 minutes (MM12 Productivity) Lithium Polymer Certifications: Energy Star Warranty and Support: 90 Day Warranty Security and Support: ASUS S/W: Office 2010 Starter, Adobe Reader, ARAP, ASUS Tutor, Skype, Fresh Paint, Solitaire, Adera, Wordament, ASUS Calculator, ASUS Converter, WorldClock

Technical Details

  • Screen Size: 11.6 inches
  • Hard Drive: 500 GB
  • Graphics Coprocessor: Intel HD Graphics 4000
  • Number of USB 2.0 Ports: 2

Customer Reviews

Love the touchscreen!

 March 11, 2013
By Amazon Customer
So my ASUS netbook which I absolutely loved and took everywhere with me died. The latest selection of netbooks didn’t excite me so I decided to upgrade to this model. The price is what sold me initially; the touchscreen seemed like a silly thing that I wouldn’t use much. But after a day of using this side by side with an older laptop I was restoring, I was convinced. I now find myself touching the screens of all my computers. It’s definitely the only way to use Windows 8.
I use this for home finance, web surfing, some word processing and a little video, photo and sound editing. The keys are a little small and take some getting used to. I am a touch typist and find the small keys a little annoying. Also the case edges are sharp and since the base is a bit wider than my old netbook it slips around a bit more on my lap. And the built-in battery does concern me; I hope when the time comes that replacing it won’t be difficult.
Sound is acceptable – I watch Netflix while working in the kitchen and it’s loud enough (much better than my netbook). The unit has 3 USB ports, SD slot and HDMI port. I have used this to stream videos to my projector and quality is excellent.
Battery life is long enough for my use; surfing and watching occasional video at home. It’s made a couple of plane trips and I’ve managed enough battery to watch movies. It’s so small and thin that I take it everywhere. And the AC adapter is not much larger than my phone charger – very convenient.
If I were doing serious typing I might hook up an external keyboard but for what I do it’s perfect. Also due to constant touching the screen shows smudges but that’s not the fault of the design – clean your hands or use a stylus if that bugs you!
The touchpad was very jumpy at first but a Windows update seems to have taken care of that.
I seem to be one of the few people who paid $499 for this at Best Buy (it’s been $449 pretty much since Christmas). You won’t find a touchscreen system that can come close for the price.

UPDATE: This summer I accidentally left my charger behind while traveling. I discovered that you basically can’t buy a charger just anywhere. You’ll have to order it from Asus and it’s $50. Fortunately mine was located and returned and is now labeled all over the place with my contact information. I have seen suggestions that when should you ever have to replace the power jack (a common failure in many laptops) go with a standard size rather than the proprietary Asus one.

Also I did a little research into replacing the battery (not needing that at this point) and found that it’s a matter of removing the back off the case, giving you access to hard drive and battery easily.

Excellent value laptop

 November 18, 2013
By Jan Bottorff
Nice little laptop. I bought it to have at least one Windows 8.1 touch screen system, for software development. I also bought a 2013 MacBook Pro 13 Retina (for iPhone or Mac app development), which is NOT 4x better, even though it costs 4X as much. On some web benchmarks (I ran them), this laptop is faster than the MacBook, because the MacBook has to process so many more pixels for the Retina screen. This laptop is much better than an Asus 1215B laptop I bought two years ago, which was a similar price, so the Windows laptop price/performance curve has continued to improve. I expect we may see an updated version of this with an Intel Haswell processor soon, perhaps at a similar price, which should give better battery life. There are also some slight variations of this model for slightly higher prices (like with Bluetooth). Unlike the MacBook, this low cost laptop comes with a wired Ethernet port (you need a $30 dongle for the MacBook, and it’s not just an integrated port, some hotel’s don’t have WiFi in the room), and a VGA port (another dongle on the MacBook) which commonly is used for projectors in conference rooms.

You could buy this laptop and a great Windows desktop computer for the price of a MacBook. I generally only use a laptop when traveling. When traveling, risking damage/theft to a $400 laptop vs a $1500 laptop is also a factor. A 3 year accidental damage warranty from SquareTrade for a $400 laptop is also only $100 vs $300 for a $1500 laptop.

You may ask why would I compare a $400 laptop to a $1500 laptop, and one reason is because I just happened to buy both at the same time, so both were seen with new gadget eyes. Another reason is both laptops have soldered in memory, and soldered in battery, they both have dual core Intel processors, and the MacBook has a soldered in flash disk (the Q200E disk could be upgraded). From the outside, they look similar. The Q200E is also half a pound lighter, and is very slightly smaller, and has a touchscreen. One is essentially near the top end of its class (MacBook) and one is near the bottom end of its class, and frankly the difference in user experience not that big. If we compare them to cars, say the $400 Q200E is a Toyota Corolla ($16800 list price) so 4X in price would be about a Lexus GS 450h ($59000 list). I think the difference in user experience between these two laptops is a lot less than the difference between the Corolla and the Lexus.

I’d have to say this little laptop gives about 75% of the general usability of the $1499 MacBook. I’m actually surprised how good a laptop you can get for $400, and if it weren’t for my need to have some sort of Mac to do development, I would have returned the MacBook. The Q200E is a vastly better value than the MacBook, although the MacBook is a better laptop, for a price. I work as a senior software engineer, and have been developing software for Apple and PC’s since they have existed (the 1980’s).

This thing rocks!

 July 25, 2013
By Bernie
Let me tell you about my Asus laptop / Amazon experience. I found this laptop at a great price on Amazon and decided to order it. It arrived quickly even using super-saver (free) shipping, however once I opened it I realized it had been damaged during shipping. I turned it on and it worked great, but the case was dented/damaged so I decided to send it back. I was already anticipating having to fight with Amazon when I contacted them using the chat feature and ‘spoke’ with Richard to see what could be done.

Amazon, listen up – Richard is the single most important reason I will be recommending Amazon to my friends and family.

Richard took the time to listen to my story and assisted me in exchanging my defective laptop and getting the replacement . . . actually, I had to return the defective one to get a refund then repurchase the replacement but to my pleasant surprise Richard made it just about painless. Richard sent me a link to print out the prepaid shipping label and expedited my order so I was only without my laptop for 1 day. It’s service like this that keeps me coming back . . . I’ll definitely recommend Amazon. It’s this kind of action we need in the White House! ;-)

Anyway, about the laptop – you’re probably not going to find a better deal on a Windows 8 laptop with a touch screen feature anywhere else (Best Buy sometimes has it on sale). The Q200E-BSI3T08 has a quick 1.8 GHz Intel Core i3-3217U processor (3rd generation), 4 GB of DDR3 memory, a 500 GB hard drive, a 1.0 MP webcam, a USB 3.0 port, wireless LAN (802.11n) and a built-in 10/100/1000 (Gigabit) network card. Please note – the screen is an 11.6” WXGA display and there is NO optical drive (no CD/DVD drive) so you’ll need to use an external CD/DVD drive. Also, the 4 GB of ram is soldered in so you can’t expand it and the battery is not removable (you’ll have to take the laptop apart to change the battery).

First thing I did was to follow JDHodges.com Asus Q200E hard drive upgrade website (you can Google it) and replaced the 500 GB hard drive with a Samsung 840 Pro solid state drive (SSD). The SSD made a big difference in performance and battery consumption and my Asus now boots up and is ready to go in about 8 seconds. I didn’t have a copy of Windows 8 for a clean install so I used the Samsung Data Migration software to bring everything over from the original hard drive. The Samsung Magician software also makes it easy to optimize/tune my new SSD and monitor drive health. Both software titles are included with the SSD or it can be downloaded from the Samsung website for free. FYI – it will only work with Samsung SSD drives (it checks).

Next I swapped out the wireless card for the Intel Network 6235AN.HMWWB Centrino Wi-Fi card. This card is dual band (Advanced-N) and includes Bluetooth. It ran about $22 from Amazon with free shipping. You’ll need another antenna for the dual band so I also ordered a pair of laptop wireless mini-PCI-E internal antennas (ASIN: B004ZHT2JE) from Amazon for about $10 including shipping.

Now I have a touch-screen Windows 8 laptop that rocks! It’s super light (about 3 pounds), boots in less than 10 seconds, has a decent processor with a solid state hard drive (no worries about bumps) with Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and is only 0.9” thin! Because of the new SSD hard drive efficiency – battery consumption has improved, but you’ll probably get between 3.5 to 4 hours of use depending on your usage. I loaded Microsoft Office 2013 (Word, Excel, Access, Powerpoint, Outlook) and Visual Studio and they work great – no issues so far.

I’ve only had this laptop for a about a month so I’ll update my review in a few months if things change.

best value!

 November 9, 2013
By Caleb A. Schaefer
Ok, here I go. I absolutely love my Asus(pronounced Asoos) q200e and here are the reasons why. first of all it’s affordable(i got a refurbished one on tiger direct for $350, with a $50 rebate!), second even though it only has a tiny 2 cell battery, it can give you 4 hours of straight hard work time, but you can conserve a lot of power by adjusting your power plan and you might be able to eek out an extra hour. third the touch screen is very responsive and so helpful, that often i find my self touching the screen on other computers without thinking. fourth, the multi-touch track pad is actually very big compared to regular laptops and is very capable of controlling this laptop with ease. the track pad has all sorts of gestures that make piloting this computer a cinch, and like an apple this has 2 finger tap right click(don’t worry non-apple fans, it also has a normal right-click button), extremely responsive 2 finger scrolling, pinch zoom, and much, much, more. i don’t know how they did it, but the whole track pad(except on the right-click button), like apple, is your left click button. yes the keyboard is not back lit and is slightly smaller than a full sized one, so if you have big hands you are going to get cramped. now on to specs. this computer has an 11.6″in screen, a 3rd gen intel i3 1.8ghz core processor, 4gb non-extendable ram, a replaceable 2 cell battery, and a 500 GB 5400 rpm hard drive. this computer also has two 2.0 USB ports, one 3.0 USB, one HDMI, one Ethernet port, and one earphone/microphone jack. this computer has a vent underneath so although this computer usually gets just gets hot enough underneath to feel it with the back of your hand, it can get more than pleasantly warm if left on a bed or covers. the asus q200e only ways 3.0 pounds(not including wall charger) and the universal charger is almost as compacted as a cellphone charger. one other thing, this computer lacks Bluetooth. yes you herd me right. no Bluetooth. if you really want Bluetooth you can buy a bluetooth adapter to stick in a usb port. now some people complain that this computer starts slowly. that is incorrect. this computer can start in under 30 seconds and can start even faster with quick boot enabled. this computer also has a 2 second wake up time. the touch screen has a sort of shiny, non-matte finish and is hard to see outside. when the laptop is open, it kind of looks like a mac-book air. the aluminum on the top and around the keyboard has a shiny brushed finish and is a big fingerprint magnet. the bottom is a nice hard plastic, nice feel, and has about nine non-hidden screws to hold it on. the bottom also has four rubber grippers that keep a pretty strong grip on whatever surface its on. one thing you can do to make widows 8 better is install all updates untill you see the free upgrade to 8.1 in the shop. after that i suggest you search google for “download start8″. start8 is a program that put the start menu back in windows 8. ther is a 30 day free trial and if you like it you can have it for $5, and there is a pay pal option. there you go. that’s my summary of the asus q200e-bsi3t08. i really hope i answered any questions you might have.

Great laptop that replaced my old tablet and laptop.

 November 29, 2013
By Clint Barton
I had this laptop since April and it has been awesome. i did have to send it back to ASUS once when i had a hard drive issue. Asus replaced it returned it free and I had my laptop back in 4 days. In October I got the Windows 8.1 update and it has been working better than ever. This laptop has replaced my need for a tablet and laptop. I will recommend it to anyone who is looking for a portable and long lasting device. Only cons are that the battery life is about 4 hours but the charger is so small i regualr keep it plugged in. It’s the best laptop for the price.

A Winner in a Crowded Field!

 November 9, 2013
By A. Wertheim "werthla"
I have used this for 6 months and few problems. Very lightweight and portable, almost a tablet with the touchscreen. Once you have a touchscreen on your laptop, you don’t go back. Windows 8 is great, don’t know what folks are complaining about except for the learning curve but you can always use desktop mode and it’s just like 7. Once in a while, the wireless stops working but the support from Asus (got them on the first ring!) walked me through it and now know what to do. Not a big deal. The hardware is a bargain, you just have to decide about Windows 8 which is wonderful.

This model uses the Intel I-3 rather than Celeron in cheaper models, also has 4 gb ram vs. 2. I don’t recommend the cheaper model since Windows needs some computing power.

Tip – rather then paying for Office, you can use LIbre Office or Apache Open Office. They both look like older versions of Office and you have to learn these commands which aren’t too different from pre 2010 Office editions. I have had no problems with compatibility. It’s a shame that Microsoft changed their model to leasing Office on an annual basis.

excellent little notebook

 November 18, 2013
By giorgi
this thing is built great and works well. upgraded to Windows 8.1 without problems (though you need to install some updates before you can upgrade). great little thing for the money, can’t complain. much snappier than your usual netbook and the built in speakers are frankly very loud and clean.

EXCEPTIONAL LAPTOP

 November 4, 2013
By Twuna Thompson
Was a little skeptical about buying because of some of the reviews. Luckily I went by the other reviews. This is an awesome little laptop. The speed is just as good as my i7 was. I go in and out of programs with ease. I was not fan of Windows 8, but I have come to like it much better. Upgraded to Window 8.1, even better. The laptop is lite weight. The system is not made for extreme game play, but the graphics are clear and strong. I love it! Truly worth the price and a little more!

A great portable piece of technology for just about anyone.

 March 19, 2014
By Kirby F.
As I write this review from my desktop, it is the machine I spend 80% of my time on. I decided I would like a portable option that would offer me a few benefits–I wanted something that would be easy to pick up and take with me, that I could browse the web and skype (when the off chance arises) on, and do some light gaming on. A tablet would have been a worthy option, but with that, I felt somewhat limited in my options. I could get a Kindle Fire and have a great item that would meet most of my needs, but it would lack a Windows OS that I did want (with the option to switch to Linux when the time came.) If I went with a Surface, I would have the familiar Windows OS, with great portability, but it still couldn’t quite scratch the itch. I looked at Chromebooks, which seemed pretty solid for the price as well, but when it came down to it, I didn’t want to be limited by the Chrome OS either. So, that made the decision easier; a cheap, entry level laptop.

Having built three desktops with Asus boards, and working at an electronics/office supply retailer, I would always point people in the direction of Asus hardware, because with the years I’ve spent using it, I haven’t had a major problem to make me swear off the brand. I had a few options in mind through Amazon, as I had credit, and after picking through dozens of options, weighing every different model with every different set-up, I found this specific laptop on the Warehouse Deals section for a very attractive price (about $270 after using Amazon credit.) I decided to jump on it, and I am glad I did.

I cannot say I have stress tested this thing to the brink of it exploding, but I’ve given it a few solid sessions to really see what I can get out of it. The answer? I got just about everything I wanted, minus a few negatives, which were things I had realized prior to purchasing this.

I swore off Windows 8 for quite some time, thinking it an unnecessary upgrade from the already great Windows 7. I did end up throwing the white flag up and changing my Windows 7 install on my desktop a few months ago, and found the changes to be very much blown out of proportion from how many had stated. Sure, it takes time to get used to, but if you’re well versed in computers (which just about everybody from ages eight to eighty are these days) it wouldn’t take more than a day to get used to it. Plus, it boots up in mere moments, even with a standard mechanical drive, like the one found in this item.

After boot up, I found that this item didn’t lag as much as I was worried about. It does take some time to boot up specific programs, but for the price, running a third gen dual core i3 was a pleasant surprise. I am somewhat sad about the RAM not being upgradable, but for this machine, I can deal with 4 gigs of it.

As I had mentioned, I did want to do some light gaming on this. I haven’t tested it to it’s limits yet, but with a huge Steam backlog, I decided to try out a couple of games. Surprisingly, after a little bit of tinkering, Shadowrun Returns ran very well. I’ll see what else I can milk out of the machine, but for the most part, this will be a “pick up and run through some of the Humble Bundle games” computer.

The touch controls I won’t hit on much, as I don’t find them to be of much use, with a keyboard and mouse in front of me. If the top was detachable, then it would make sense to use it, but I don’t find the touch to be user friendly, and in some cases I feel cramped trying to dance around the body of the laptop.

The other gripe I can complain about would be the battery life. With how solid the item is, I would expect the battery to last longer and hold it’s own against some of the competitors, but I don’t find myself away from an outlet for four hours at a time.

I installed HWMonitor to keep an eye on how this is running, and it does seem to get a little warm inside, but not dramatically. It usually is around 60 Celsius when idle or browsing a website or two.

All in all, I am very happy with my purchase. There are a few negatives keeping this from being a complete home run, but I am definitely satisfied with the item that Asus was able to craft.