Amazon Price: $420.39 (as of September 1, 2014 6:31 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Get professional color and print black text at the same cost per page as a black-and-white HP LaserJet printer with the HP LaserJet Pro 200 Color M251nw. This laser printer offers wired and wireless connectivity, plus HP ePrint print from your Smartphone or tablet from virtually anywhere. Use business apps and the 3.5-Inch color touch screen to access and print from the Web. This laser printer also lets you print from a flash drive using the easy-access USB port. The HP LaserJet Pro 200 Color M251nw has a 150-sheet paper tray and four individual ink cartridges change toners less frequently and replace only the cartridge that runs out. Print black-and-white documents more affordably with an optional high-capacity black toner cartridge.

Technical Details

  • Auto-Document Feeder
  • Color
  • Wireless
  • Network-Ready
  • Photo

Product Details

  • Product Dimensions: 15.9 x 10.4 x 17.8 inches ; 41.4 pounds
  • Shipping Weight: 48 pounds
  • Shipping: This item is also available for shipping to select countries outside the U.S.
  • ASIN: B008ABLJHE
  • Item model number: CF147A#BGJ
  • Date first available at Amazon.com: August 20, 2012

Customer Reviews

Great Printer

 January 1, 2013
By David A. Barnhart
I’ve owned this printer for about 2 months and have printed about 5000 pages. I’ve owned HP laserjets since the days of the Laserjet III. My two previous color lasers were the HP 2600n and CP2025. The M251NW is a worthy successor to my old workhorse 2600n (the CP2025 was a P.O.S.)

Setup was easy. Connecting the printer wirelessly to my MacBookPro was effortless. The touch-screen control panel is more intuitive than any other HP printer I’ve owned. I am very happy with this printer.

The thing I am most happy about: I print from MS-Word and many of my documents include a color image in halftone as a watermark on every page. The M251NW does a better job of rendering this watermark than any printer I’ve previously owned.

The ‘Toner is low’ warning comes up way too early but you can easy bypass it and keep printing. There is still LOTS of toner left after the ‘low toner’ warning appears.

Perfect printer every home (or office) should have.

 June 23, 2013
By Matthew Galvin
OVERALL:
Great printer for home or small office use. Effortless setup with great reliability. I previously had a Kodak wireless printer which had crappy wifi range and always dropped connection when asleep. This HP keeps the connection and is always ready to print, just hit print on your PC, Mac or mobile device and away it goes.

QUALITY:
I have no issues at all with the build quality, it all feels well made, but BE WARNED; it’s HEAVY! (40lb). The paper tray is nicely hidden at the bottom and the toner tray is pretty nice to use, just pull the front door down and then slide the drawer out, you don’t have to reach into any small places. It seems to have the possibility of adding a duplex unit, but doesn’t come with one.

PRINTING:
Quality is amazing. Images print perfectly. I’m not a printing expert but I don’t know how it could look any better. Speed is great too, it gets 14 pages per minute, which isn’t as fast as a commercial copier, but if you compare it to the usual home inkjet printer it’s practically instant for one page. You will find it takes longer for your network to send an image to the printer than it will for it to actually print.

TONER & RUNNING COST:
It comes with “Introductory Cartridges” which appear to be partially filled regular cartridges, these are supposed to get ~700 pages of printing. You can get a replacement set from HP that gets ~1,800 pages for $270. You can get the same set from a different brand (that works) for $120. HOWEVER, if you aren’t afraid of getting your hands dirty, you can get a refill kit that can get 5 x ~1,800 refills for $60 on ebay. This comes with all tools, chips and instructions, just beware that toner is toxic, and you will have to take safety precautions.

I hope I have helped you with this review and you can choose the right printer for you.

Impressive printer

 December 3, 2012
By F. Kirk
My printer arrived this evening and I had it set up and printing in about 20 minutes (about half of that time was just unpacking it). The first and most important lesson for me is that HP finally has wireless network setup figured out. All the agony of trying to get my earlier HP printers working on my wireless home network are now just a bad memory. I sat the printer down on my kitchen table and powered it up, stuck the installation CD in my laptop and walked thru the steps. About halfway thru you have to physically connect your computer to the printer with a USB cable OR manually enter the network information to allow the printer to connect to your wireless network. I chose the cable option. (In a subsequent step, it tells you when to disconnect the cable). You also have the option to permanently connect to a PC via a USB cable, but the wireless option is far more useful for me. Bottom line: it was just about as easy as getting my smartphone to connect to my wireless network.

Print quality: Absolutely visually stunning! You have the 600 DPI tack sharp print of a high quality laser printer and it is now in full color.

The one thing that surprised me a little is that it is bigger and heavier than I expected but not quite as large as my ancient laserjet 4 – which I gave away years ago. Still, it fits in the roll-out compartment in my desk that held my tiny HP 1122 laser printer. So it is still a very manageable size.

They might sell more of these if they took the words “monochrome printer” out of the product title. This is definitely a color laser printer. Some folks may find that product description confusing.

If this thing turns out to be anywhere near as reliable and durable as my older HP laserJet printers have been, then it is a home run purchase.

I will add more comments after I have used this printer for a few weeks. First impressions: awesome printer.

July 2013: After several months I found something to add to my original review. If you print envelopes, you have to remove and unload the paper tray and put your envelope in there. A minor inconvenience, but other HP printers I have owned had an envelope feed. This is minor – still a great printer and now I see it is even cheaper.

With this color laser printer, HP earned my respect.

 February 19, 2013
By Technical Artist
I was having a hellish experience with a Samsung color laser printer — a story I won’t repeat here. But it is worth mentioning, because there is an important lesson here: Laser printers of the same price class are NOT created equally.

I ordered this HP printer, thinking it would be about as good as previous color laser printers I’ve owned. But no. It wasn’t as good. It was FAR, FAR BETTER.

This is not your average junk product thrown out by some company hoping to take your money and run. This is a product built by a company that appears to care about quality and producing the most excellent printer it possibly can, and yet still manage to keep the price reasonable. It is bit heavy in the box, so be prepared to lug that thing home when you get it. But there’s a good reason for it — it is a solidly built, quality product.

And the setup? Oh my goodness. I use a Mac, and typically getting third party equipment set up is like putting your head through an old fashioned wet clothes wringer. You might make it out the other side, but you’ll get a huge headache in the process. But not so with this HP laser. Setup was truly a breeze, and it recognized everything instantly and was just so simple, HP deserves some kind of award for that alone.

If you value your time and sanity, as I do, listen: Even if this cost a bit more than other, comparable printers — and really for what you get, it doesn’t — it would still be worth it. When you can unpack this, pull a few strips of plastic protective tape, plug it in, throw in an install CD, and be up and running hassle free in minutes, that’s because the company that made it cares about the experience and paid attention to details. HP got a LOT right with this printer. Another thing that just makes life so much easier is that there is a flip up, touch LCD screen. Touch! Thank you… no more printing out status pages by holding down some crazy button for a minute and wondering what’s going to come out. This is how a printer should work! This is it!

The print quality itself is really great. It really looks just like what I see on my screen, too, unlike the washed out nonsense I’ve seen from other brands. I’m very, very pleased.

Check out the other reviews to date, and consider: Every single one of them gave FIVE STARS, except one that gave FOUR. Why? Well, according to the reviewer, he got a low toner alert too soon, and was able to print 800 more pages and the toner still had not run out yet. Wait… that’s… a PROBLEM? I don’t think so. If that happened to me, I’d want to give this printer SIX stars. Some people might need that early alert so they can place an order for more toner, and not run out before it arrives.

I guess some people see the glass half empty, some half full. I haven’t owned the printer long enough to get to that point, but I do know of a way to solve it. Just go into your printer settings, open printer Options and then the Printer Utility, and you can actually change the warning thresholds for low toner alerts. Boom! Problem solved.

Until/unless this printer is eclipsed by something newer and better, which is hard to imagine given the relatively stable nature of laser printers over the years, in my opinion there is nothing worth looking backwards to at any price in the same class, no matter how much lower that price might be. This is an excellent, quality product that is worth every cent.

I’m very happy with this printer…so far.

 August 15, 2013
By Amazon Customer "Bob D."
WHY A COLOR LASER PRINTER?
Like others who have turned to a Laser color printer, I was sick of expensive Canon ink jet cartridges drying up before the ink was used and non-Canon cartridges caused streaking problems on my photos. Since I’ve been very happy with my HP LaserJet 1018 for every day black and white printing, I decided to try a color LaserJet for my color printing needs, most of which consists of printing photographs. As soon as I installed the Pro 200, I tried to print some color photographs on it and I was REALLY disappointed. The color was way darker than what I was seeing on my monitor, and looked horrible. Totally NOT acceptable, so I went to Staples and bought some paper designed for use in a color LASER printer. All the photo paper I had on hand was of course for ink jet printers. The woman at Staples recommended I NOT try to use ink jet paper on a laser printer for fear of it “fusing” the image on my laser printer’s drum. So I gave away my ink jet paper and bought a box of 100 sheets of Staples 8.5 x 11 laser color photo paper for under $25. Not the highest quality in the world, but okay for test purposes.

Since the paper I bought is 8.5 x 11, and most of what I want to print are standard 6 x 4 “snapshot” sizes I’ve had to use Publisher to “paste” and downsize photos onto a Publisher page, and then print and cut the photos from there. I’m sure there are easier solutions, like buying some color laser paper in 6 x 4 size, which I’ll do, but the box of 100 was all Staples had in stock so for test purposes I bought it. The image quality from using this paper is 100% improved over the old ink jet paper… WAYYYYY better!!! The images, of course, are not “HD photo image quality” but are acceptable enough for every day use, e.g., giving “snapshots” to friends, etc. If I want to print a quality photograph I’ll send the file to an outside lab like MPIX anyway, as I did when I had the Canon ink jet printer.

WIRELESS PRINTING
Tonight I asked my wife to try and test the wireless installation for use with her pc. That’s how I have mine installed. After multiple, frustrating attempts to install the printer using the provided installation disk, I was unable to get it to work hard wired. However it works perfectly in wireless mode with no connecting USB or other kind of cable attached to my PC from the printer. Since my wife is on the same network as my computer via our router she gave it a try and in minutes was able to print on the HP Pro 200 from her computer on the other side of our home office. COOL! This is our first foray into wireless printing, and it’s very nice to be able to share the color printer!

A MINOR “CON”
One irritant is that there is no “single sheet feed” capability on this printer. By that I mean in order to print a color photo one needs to replace or add to the plain paper in the print tray with a page of the photo paper. That requires removing the paper tray and adding the single sheet on top, then reinserting the paper tray. If the photo paper is a different size than the plain paper in the tray then the tray paper must be removed before “sizing” the tray properly for the new paper. That process does work okay, but it’s not as easy as having a place to feed a single sheet without having to remove the paper tray. C’est la vie. It’s not a BIG deal… just a pain in the butt. Overall I’m happy with the quality, performance, noise level and size of the printer, and I LOVE the wireless capability. I’d buy this printer again. Not sure how long the toner will last, but I don’t do all that much photo printing so it should be more economical than throwing away dried up and clogged ink jet cartridges.

HP Printer

 March 2, 2014
By Ronald White
This is my review of the Laser Jet Pro 200 M251NW Printer.

First off, I had done a fair bit of research on low-end laser printers and this was always on the top of the heap. You have to be clear on what it is you are looking for and what it is you are comparing. For me, the best reviews, and the cost of toner were the deciding factors. I had considered just about every brand and every model but wasn’t willing to spend much over 200.00. That knocked out all good color laser multi function printers. So I arrived at single function color lasers, and settled on this one.

I received it and was immediately struck with how heavy it is. I thought “this must be good because it weighs a ton”, but then I remembered that bricks also weigh a ton and they don’t print worth a s*** !

Well, I admit, I procrastinated for about a week but I finally got around to pulling it out of the box. First impressions; This looks serious. Like it belongs at work and I “borrowed” it. Easy to unpack and get it ready to configure to my wired network. The pictures for instructions kind of sucked but I was able to decipher their meaning and pull the packing tape from the printer and the toner cartages. It was ready to go.

I turned on the printer and worked through a couple of screens of simple stuff like if I use English and am I in t the United States of America. Then I turned on my computer and put in the software that came with the printer. It started and was surprised by how easy this was to install. I was printing a test page in about 5 minutes. Then, at the end, I read a part of the software that told me how to print from my Android phone. So, I did that. I had the app downloaded and printed a test page in about 10 minutes. I had never downloaded an app to my phone before, but my son was there so I had a little help on how to get to the HP ePrint web site through Google Play Store. I did it!

Then I installed the software on two other computers, and I went to write this review! In less than an hour, I was printing from 3 different computers and a phone on my network color laser printer! My wife thinks I’m really smart and my son thinks I got really lucky, but I think this was a great printer set-up experience! I will update my review as I live with it for a while.

For the past few years I’ve been using a great Konica Minolta Magicolor 2530DL which produces amazingly accurate colors

 August 8, 2014
By DRC
I do professional graphic design and use my color lasers for proofs, as well as many other things … brochures, client plaques, trifolds, menus, programs, etc. Accurate color reproduction, image quality, accurate print geometry (equal margins and not crooked), speed and reliability are very important. For the past few years I’ve been using a great Konica Minolta Magicolor 2530DL which produces amazingly accurate colors, but recently began printing off-center vertically with a much larger margin at the top of the pages than the bottom, and was inconsistent. Naturally, anything requiring precision printing such as a 10-up business card page on perforated stock, centering trifold info on double sides, etc became impossible. So I began researching new printers and all reviews led me to the HP Laserjet Pro 200 M25NW. A well known local office supply store had one in stock as well as a demo, so checked it out. I printed out a demo page and was very impressed with the overall image quality and color. Small fonts were very sharp and clean. When doing my research, I found a local competitor with a price $30 less (but were out of stock), so I was able to price match and walked out with a Pro 200 for $30 less than the already discounted price. However, when I got it home, I soon discovered it had been used, returned, and resold as new. Not good. There was paper in the tray, the toner protective strips had been removed, and toner had been used. I called the store and was told they never resell a returned item and this one had somehow slipped through…and apologized profusely. It printed fine, producing beautiful prints, but I still felt a bit misled and had no idea what the previous owner may have done to it. So the manager offered to order me a new one, and knock off another 20% for my trouble. Picked it up today and everything was as it should be… and prints beautifully.

Using the default settings, prints are a bit too dark for my taste, so I began trying various settings and combinations. For me, going into the Color tab and deselecting HP Easy Color, and selecting Photo (sRGB) in the Color Themes section produces nice accurate color and better density. This printer doesn’t do auto duplexing, but doing it manually, I easily and quickly printed 50 two-sided folded programs for an upcoming event, and they turned out beautiful with perfect placement/registration on both sides. I’ve printed many images consisting of the most difficult to produce colors… purples, greens, reds, blues, etc, and I’m impressed with the color accuracy and overall image quality. Not perfect, but very accurate and on par with the Magicolor 2530DL.

This printer is definitely faster than the Magicolor 2530DL and activates instantly after sitting for a while in standby mode. When I hit “Print” in any of my programs, the Pro 200 jumps to life instantly without delay and full page prints of graphic images/photos print in just a few seconds. It required very little time to print those 50 double-sided programs.

After getting it going the first time, for the first several pages, I was hearing a continuous ‘knocking/rolling’ during the printing process, however, it soon disappeared and is now extremely quiet and smooth.

Overall, this is a very impressive printer. One minor complaint is the paper exit. When doing a multi-page job, pages stack up and will push previously exited pages farther and farther out, away from the page access indent on the top. But something I can deal with. #10 envelopes are easily printed with no curl. There is no manual feed tray, so envelopes must be placed in the main tray, but no big deal.

Easy setup, quiet, smooth, great image quality and color, easy manual duplexing, and accurate print geometry make this an excellent printer at twice the price. No, it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles of more expensive printers, but certainly has the image quality to make up for it. Comparing the demo prints from a $300 Brother and a $400 Samsung, the Pro 200 is impressive. I’m hoping it will provide this same print quality for a long time to come, but time will tell.

Best WiFi Print experience ever with iOS and Mac OS10.9.1

 February 10, 2014
By Studio McCutch
Best WiFi Print experience ever with iOS and Mac OS10.9.1. I have now used close to 3 or 4 reams of paper with the toner cartridges that came with it. I am getting more colorful with my printing now which makes for better printed documents… This HP works way better than their inkjet printers.”” I do wish it could print on the front and back automatically.””

Incoming search terms:

Hewlett Packard LaserJet PRO 200 Color M251NW Wireless Printer (CF147A#BGJ),Hewlett Packard LaserJet PRO 200 Color M251NW Wireless Printer review