Amazon Price: $79.99 $52.75 You save: $27.24 (34%). (as of July 24, 2014 12:58 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Smart TV HDMI Adapter-Makes Any HDTV an Android Smart TV; Processing Speed 1.5GHz; Operating System : Powered By Google Android 4.1; 4 GB Built-in Flash Memory; Built-in 1GB DDR III RAM; Built-in WiFi (802.11b/g/n); Supports Video Format : MKV/AVI/RM/RMVB/FLV/WMV/MP4/MPG/VOB (Up to 1080p); Supports Audio Format : MP3/WMA/WAV; Supports Photo Format : JPEG/BMP/GIF/PNG; Supports e-Reader Format : PDF/PDF/DRM/TXT/EPUB/EPUB DRM/HTML/FB2; Supports 3D Gaming Accelerometer; Built-In Full Size USB Port for Input Device Connection; Supports Wireless Keyboard and Mouse; HDMI Interface to connect to Any HDTV; Micro USB port for power Supply; Micro SD Card Slot (Supports Max. 32GB); Supports Amazon App Store, Dropbox, Soc.io. Mall, Opera, Netflix, Browser, e-Book Reader, e-Mail, Photos, Maps, Video, YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, Music, Clock; ACCESSORIES INCLUDED-2.4 GHz Wireless Mouse & Mini Receiver,HDMI Extension Cable,Micro USB to Full size USB cable,AC/USB Adaptor

Technical Details

  • Product Dimensions: 6.4 x 1.7 x 3.4 inches ; 12 ounces
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S.
  • ASIN: B00BMLQPG4
  • Item model number: CVD601
  • Date first available at Amazon.com: February 27, 2013

Product Details

  • Product Dimensions: 6.4 x 1.7 x 3.4 inches ; 12 ounces
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S.
  • ASIN: B00BMLQPG4
  • Item model number: CVD601
  • Date first available at Amazon.com: February 27, 2013

Customer Reviews

The wireless mouse interferes with its own network!

 July 5, 2013
By makuribu
Mine came with Android 4.1 (Jellybean) already installed. For anybody with an earlier version, Craig has 4.1 as a download on their web site.

The first time I used it with the wireless mouse, the network connection was horrible. It was slow and it dropped the connection every few seconds. I switched to a wired mouse and my network connection (speed and reliability) was vastly improved. I believe the wireless mouse is interfering with the WiFi, since they both operate in the 2.4GHz spectrum. I may try a Bluetooth adapter and keyboard and see if that is less of a problem, since wireless is much more convenient for a couch potato.

As a smart TV adapter, this thing is better than my Samsung HT-C5500 blu ray home theatre system, which has a very limited selection of apps. The Craig also handles video files better than the Samsung, which is finicky about some AVI and MKV files, and has audio sync problems with MP4 files.

I will get a USB hub so I can plug in my hard drive full of video files.

Note that this unit does not come with Google Play, you must use the Amazon App Store. It has YouTube and Netflix already installed.

For basic web browsing and HTPC duties it works well out of the box.

defective mouse

 June 28, 2013
By john o "johnnyo"
The mouse didn’t work at all,so I purchased an HP mouse and it works with out a problem .the Craig mouse was cheaply manufactured.

Pretty neat gadget for the price, but needs work

 January 16, 2014
By stay at home Dad
I got this for really, really cheap at a doorbuster last November in a regional home store chain. I didn’t even know things like this existed, and was surprised at how inexpensive this was. At the price I paid, I hate to say it, it was worth throwing away some money on something that might have been a dud.

Summary:

This product gets four stars solely because of the price. If it had been much more expensive, it would have gotten three stars or less. The things the manufacture could fix that would have let me give it five stars:
- It needs a strong wi-fi connection
- It needs Google Play
- It needs a remote, not a mouse.

Details:

First, I’m going to say that you get what you pay for. You can buy really cheap tablets running slightly older versions of Android, without Google Play, for less than twice the cost of this device. Take the LCD off of those tablets, and you would have exactly what this is, including the price. The fact that it also has an HDMI port and comes with a wireless mouse would have made me expect to pay as much as those cheap tablets.

Second, I’m going to say that this thing simply can not be intended for the casual user, no matter what the documentation might say about being easy to set up. This takes a little bit of knowledge to set up. No, you don’t have to be a programmer, but you do have to have some good troubleshooting skills, and know your way around Android (since the manual for this is worthless). If you want the devices that are easy to set up, you’re going to have to pay a bit more. Or, maybe you can get a chromecast to work with your existing tablet or laptop.

Honestly, this is what I thought the chromecast was going to be when I first saw the ads: an android device that plugs into your television. This is what chromecast *should* have been, but I suspect that it wouldn’t have been $35 if it was.

Anyway, here’s my story:

First thing I did, I followed the tiny instructions in the manual to plug it into my TV’s HDMI port and start up the mouse. There was a TV configuration issue on my part that you will probably not have to deal with: just make sure that you’re HDMI input isn’t disabled in the TV’s on-screen menu. After I fixed that, it took about a minute for the TV to realize there was an HDMI device plugged in, and it turned on to show a picture of a jellybean jar robot, and a couple of minutes later I was running Android ***on my TV***!.

I wasn’t done though. First thing’s first, I realized that there was some overscan (for the non-technical, that means that the content the device was displaying was bigger than the screen on TV: I couldn’t see the edges of the screen). I figured this would be easy to resolve, and it was. Going into the settings, and navigating through, eventually you’ll find something under display that let’s you adjust the size of the output.

After that, I went in and played with some of the apps they had on it, it was kind of fun to do this on my TV, but having to use that little mouse was kind of annoying. If you can get a hold of a USB keyboard, that might make it easier to do setup which requires a lot of typing, such as plugging in your Wi-Fi passphrase, or logging into your various accounts.

Once I got wi-fi connected, by the way, it started downloading some system updates automatically.

My disappointment started to emerge when I got to the part I really wanted to do: I want to use this as a front end for my MythTV computer. It was about then that I realized how very, very, very limited Amazon AppStore is compared to Google Play. When I’d done this on two tablets, it was fairly easy. While Amazon has the MythTV Android Front End, it does not have a decent video player that works well with the files. I’m used to BSPlayer on the tablets, and this was *not* available in AppStore.

Some things I tried included: using the built-in DLNA client (Something called Airshow, if I recall) to find my mythtv recordings on the network and installing apps on my Nook HD that would allow me to stream the content onto this device. While all of this worked, with a bit of tweaking, it all came down to difficulty playing the video on the device in the end.

Long story short, while they don’t have Google Play on this device, at least they haven’t locked out installing from unknown sources (as was the case on my Nook HD). I was able to get a hold of an APK file for BSPlayer Free (took me some searching on google) and install that (I couldn’t get any Google Play APK files to work, however, the software would install, but it would close immediately on run).

Now, I’m watching my mythtv on my TV, without having to plug and unplug my laptop into it, or deal with all the cords involved in that.

The wireless is poor. I can get much better wi-fi connection on my Nook HD and my wife’s Nexus 7, even when I’m holding them right next to it. Which means, sometimes, recordings will stutter as they’re being played. Fast forwarding through commercials is a pain, since I have to swipe with that mouse. Some shows, like Doctor Who off my PBS station, stutter so much that I simply can’t stand it and I have to watch it from my laptop.

I have no idea what Netflix and the like would be like on this, since my broadband connection isn’t fast enough for those. However, I suspect that someone with a good connection, and a strong wifi router, would have no problems watching those, which makes this an ideal inexpensive alternative for a Roku or something like that.

The device has no power button. There is a menu option to restart if you feel you need to, however, and if you turn off your TV (or switch to a different input, since HDMI connections have a way to indicate this to the device) it will eventually go into standby mode (similar to a lock screen on a tablet, but no swipe to unlock).

I really wish that they had a decent remote for this, instead of using a mouse which requires me to have a table next to me at the couch. Heck, even a wireless trackpad would be better. I don’t know how a remote would work with Android, though, but I plan on trying a USB remote I have in place of the mouse someday.

Edit:

Two additional pieces of info:

First, I did a test on the wifi/mouse interference mentioned in other reviews. I used the iperf app to test my network connection to another machine on my network. This is a 802.11b/g/n access point (the specs claim this device can do 802.11n) about 15 feet away and down a story from the device, and the server is running on 100Mbps ethernet into that access point.

With the mouse going, I got about 4 or 5 Mbits/second. Taking the mouse off and replacing it with a USB keyboard (*yes*, it worked), I was getting 12 Mbits/second. So, yes, there does appear to be some interference, although I also got the faster speed by moving the receiver several inches further away from the device on the USB extension cord. However, even at 12 Mbits/second, that’s simply not enough to transmit video, at least HD. Maybe SD.

For control, a Nook HD tablet held right next to the device was able to get about 25 Mbits/second.

Second, for those even more technically minded, I found there is a thread on this device at xda-developers talking about installing custom roms and things like that. I don’t have time for that sort of thing, but this might be useful to others:
[...]

figured the wireless mouse finally! works great

 January 26, 2014
By countygirl
So a couple weeks ago we set this up with our Sony Wega tv which we bought around 2007. We aren’t super techie-oriented but we the adapter was pretty easy to do along with those skimpy directions they sent (and searching for how to do it on the internet with our laptop) all we really want it for is netflix which has worked great. The only problem was the wireless mouse that came with it- couldn’t get it to work. so we just hooked up a corded mouse and all was well except it was awkward. Well this morning we finally saw – duh- there is a little usb thingy that sticks out on the underside of the mouse (towards rear end) that we have to pull out and plug into the usb receptacle of the adapter and viola- it works. Hope this helps someone else….

Excellent Item

 October 11, 2013
By Amazon Customer
This item was a big improvement for my LCD TV. It has all the apps I need for entertainment. Thanks

works great for netflix

 June 24, 2014
By No Name
works great out of the box for Netflix, Youtube, and browsing! the amazon app store works great, and i can use all of my free apps.

Incoming search terms:

icraig CVD601 not playing video