Rating: 
Amazon Price: $2,399.99 $1,969.93 You save: $430.06 (18%). (as of September 6, 2013 4:38 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Customize your own entertainment; with the power of Smart TV.The 55-inch Samsung UN55D6400 LED TV lets you go further into a world of entertainment -by customizing your own. Samsung Smart TV delivers a web-enabled portal to the best of the entire internet, along with Samsung apps and the ability to search content both online and on your TV. The journey continues with advanced3D technology, for an immersive experience with your favorite 3D movie titles and TV programming. Ironically, you'll make these deeper connections on a TV that's impressively thin: the ultra slim bezel lets your eyes disappear into the dazzling LED images onscreen.

Technical Details

  • Brand Name: : Samsung
  • Model: : UN55D6400
  • Display Technology: : led-lit
  • Display Size: : 54.6 inches
  • Image Aspect Ratio: : 16:09

Product Details

  • Product Dimensions: 1.2 x 49.4 x 28.7 inches ; 38.1 pounds
  • Shipping Weight: 61 pounds
  • Shipping: Currently, item can be shipped only within the U.S.
  • ASIN: B004NZBAF2
  • Item model number: UN55D6400
  • Date first available at Amazon.com: April 17, 2011

Customer Reviews

Excellent edge-lit LED TV

 April 1, 2011
By J. Chau
After several months of using this TV, here are my impressions. Note that I’m using Antenna HD, PS3 Bluray, and DVD.

Design:

The thin bezel design and glass(stem) stand is gorgeous, it feels like the picture is floating on the stand. The thin bezel really enhances the picture by minimizing reflections. It’s really refreshing to not have a thick glossy bezel shining at you when watching TV; although the bezel itself seems to get mighty hot after several hours of use. The screen is glass and it does have reflections in daylight. It will probably annoy those of you that have a lot of glare coming from windows.

Picture Quality:

HD picture quality is outstanding while SD ranges from good to OK. The SD quality really depends on your broadcasting source; higher quality SD means good SD picture. Blacks are good, but I believe the processing engine goes a bit overboard and saturates the blacks to a point where details are lost. I haven’t found out how to tone down the blacks, even after shutting off all the processing. Colors seem to really pop out, if it’s too much one can adjust RGB in the menus. Initially, this TV did not exhibit any noticeable clouding for several months but now I can clearly see clouding on a completely dark transition screen. I’m a bit disappointed it has developed clouding over time, but it’s not bad enough that you’ll notice it during tv viewing. This is an edge-lit LCD and there are inherit weaknesses. Motion picture quality is very smooth and artifacts are kept to a minimum; in fact, this is the smoothest picture I’ve ever seen on any HDTV.

Adjustment Controls:

This TV has quite a few options for tuning the picture. There’s standard, dynamic, natural, and movie modes. Each mode has it’s own saved settings. For my normal viewing, I started with the movie settings while in Standard mode and made a few adjustments to brighten up the screen. Movie mode has a “warm2″ color tone that I changed to “standard” since I don’t like warm colors for normal viewing. For movies, I use the movie mode where the colors and brightness are toned down, with relatively few adjustments made. The natural and dynamic modes are horrendous, don’t even go there. There’s some fine adjustments in each mode with backlight, contrast, sharpness, hue, brightness, color, etc.

Connections:

Has HDMI 1.4 connections, which allow 1 Audio Return and single Ethernet connections (with specific high speed compatible HDMI cables and other HDMI 1.4 devices). Has 1 composite connection and 1 component (both use supplied extension plugs). Switching between sources is a tad slow to me, wish it was bit faster. Note that the optical out connection will transfer Dolby Digital sound from the antenna input, but it will only transfer stereo sound if you are connecting a device from HDMI and outputting the sound using optical out.

Sound:

Sound comes from the back panel and these kinds of tvs always sound odd. It’s definitely loud enough, but not as good as a tv with good front speakers. You can use simulated surround sound and it’s not bad at all. The one annoying thing is your sound settings are kept the same as you change your input sources; even after you’ve configured one input source as having movie sound settings. You can use the equalizer to adjust the sound to your liking. I might buy a sound bar to accompany this tv.

Internet apps:

I took a little while to play around with the apps, they’re ok but respond pretty slow. Just your standard apps, nothing impressive. It does have an app store where you can purchase more apps but I didn’t try that. I found youtube to be a bit odd. I started up youtube and it showed me the annoying orange video on startup; really strange it just loaded up with that video.

Other apps:

The photo viewer is pretty decent, seems a bit slow in rendering the pictures from a USB stick. I’ve also played some AVI and MKV files on the TV and it looks good to me. MKV files do not seem to have subtitle options.

3D:

I bought the Samsung SSG-3100GB bluetooth glasses for 2011 3D TVs. The glasses are great and much better than the old versions I tried out on a 2010 TV. It syncs up really well and I don’t notice ghosting. There is a 3D button on the remote where you can convert 2D programming to 3D; this is done on the fly using the TV’s processor. The 2D-3D is applied minimally so it isn’t great; you will barely notice the 3D effects on the conversion. However, watching true 3D movies is great but 46″ is really small for 3D. What others say about having a 50″ plus TV is true if you want to experience the depth of 3D. What truly blows me away is playing 3D games through the Playstation 3. I started Wipeout HD up and I was giggling like a silly schoolgirl for a while. It really blew my mind how the 3D enhances the fun of games.

Remote:

Remote is pretty decent. It has a your standard TV buttons as well as a way to control playback on other sources with fast forward, rewind, stop, play. Remote has a backlight you can activate.

Settings:

Here are some basic calibration settings I used.

0) Standard Mode
1) Backlight: 13
2) Contrast: 93
3) Brightness: 45
4) Sharpening: 10 (keep this low!)
5) Color: 45
6) Tint R/G: 50, 50
7) Color Tone: Auto
8) Dynamic Contrast: Low

Additionally, I nearly turned off all the processing (including motion plus)

Verdict:

Very good TV with an inherit weakness in edge-lit LED technology in that you will find some uneven lighting and clouding. This might be as good as edge-lit LED is going to get. I gave it a 4 star here but it’s really more 4.5 out of 5. I won’t give it a 5 because true local-dimmed LED TVs have better contrast and color consistency, but you’ll be paying a lot more (unless you buy the ugly Vizio LED TVs).

Update 1/13/2012:

I upgraded to the newest firmware and noticed after rebooting it reset all my settings. I don’t see anything different except I noticed how crappy the picture was. It’s important you do not leave the it on the default settings as the picture quality is pretty horrendous. Use my settings as a baseline, especially keep sharpening low, turn off motion plus, and you will see the potential of this tv.

More notes:

I recently noticed that my tv was tilted down to the left a little as it sits on the supplied stand. I took out a tape measure and noticed the left end was nearly 1/4″ lower than the right side. This really bugged me so i took apart the stand and slipped a piece of paper folded several times in the gap where you screw in the stand. This helped balance it perfectly.

Absolutely Amazing! What Else Can I Say?

 May 20, 2011
By Jeff H
I have only had the television for 3 days now, but here are my initial impressions:

The picture is absolutely stunning. I upgraded from a 50′ Samsung DLP that I’d had for about 7 years. I truly didn’t realize what I was missing with the technology advancements of 1080P LCDs and LEDs over the last few years. My wife and I will be watching HDTV in either 1080i or 720p and look at each other and say this doesn’t look like “normal” TV. We finally figured it out last night. The picture is so clear that television shows truly appear to us as if we’re looking through a window into somebody’s home or perhaps watching a live performance/sporting event. We can even start to decipher how “fake” some of the sets are that the producers are using on many of the sitcoms.

Watching a Blu-ray is almost like watching a video game. The frame rate and clarity are so much improved over previous generation sets that it really gives you a whole new movie-watching experience. Blu-rays might take some getting used to for me because they are so life-like that I tend to just stare in awe rather than paying attention to the movie.

The 3D function of the television also blew me away. I really wasn’t sure what to expect here, but took a leap of faith because the price was so incredible. Not only does the 3D create depth when you are watching 3D blu-rays. The picture actually comes at you as if you were in the theater. So far the only experiences I’ve had with 3D are with a couple of the IMAX 3D blu-rays that I purchased on Amazon. The 2D to 3D function is a bit gimmicky. I’ve used it to watch baseball games and the NHL playoffs and it does add a little depth to the picture, but probably not enough difference for me to have to wear the glasses all the time.

The one knock against LED televisions has been black levels. While I do notice that the blacks are not quite as deep as other TVs, it really is overshadowed by the beauty and clarity of the rest of the picture.

Overall, this is a definite 5 star purchase for me. If bought 100s of items on Amazon and this is the first thing that has really compelled me to write a review if that tells you anything?

Even better than my 2010 Samsung 50" plasma!

 June 1, 2011
By Big Kid "Robert"
I have 13 TVs, from 19″ to 62″. Four of them are Samsung (32″ LCD, 32″ LCD, 50″ Plasma, and this 40″ LED), most of the others are Sony, Panasonic, or Mitsubishi. Every one has been a great TV, but each one is better than the previous. Make sure you understand this TV is the 2011 model, not 2010. It is a UN40D6400UF, not a UN40C6400UF. It is so new that you can’t easily find support at Samsung if you use the Product Model Finder. You must search the sight with the correct model number, and only then will you find a path to the support page.

I can only rate this TV on 2D picture quality. I have no use for 3D-TV until they don’t require glasses, even though both my PS3’s, TV, and a couple of Blu-rays support 3D. As another user noted, the box is slim and that’s no joke. I bought my kids a 40″ Philips LED TV two weeks ago and that box was slim, but this box was 2″ thinner. This TV weighs 22 lbs, while the Philips is 30 lbs. The thin bezel is amazing and makes the TV look like it’s all picture.

The menu system is slightly better than my plasma, both well laid out and intuitive. Setup was a breeze and the settings were NOT all maxed out. The remote is pretty well laid out, but not as nice as my plasma and the back-lighting is not as bright as it should be. The picture and sound are superb! Off-angle viewing (vertical and horizontal) is amazing. All my Samsung TV’s have touch-sensitive controls on the front of the TV – they look great but are hard to use in most lighting situations. This TV has real buttons on the back of the TV, but you have to memorize the locations by feel. (UPDATE) When you touch the buttons on the back of the TV, there are icons that appear on the front of the screen showing all of the buttons and which button you are touching, by highlighting that button. Very Cool!

I would recommend this TV to all my friends and family!! I am so glad I spent the extra $100 to get the 6400 instead of the 6000.

UPDATE: OK, I broke down and bought a pair of Samsung 3D glasses and Resident Evil: Afterlife 3D. The glasses paired with the TV like magic. The 3D picture was quite amazing with none of the problems described by another reviewer. I still don’t like the glasses, and I felt some eye strain and a minor headache during the movie. You can actually still watch the movie without the glasses – not very well, but a 100 times better than the old red and blue 3D movies. The glasses also fit a big head like mine, but still fit my children (nice design).

Also I got tired of the soap opera appearance of the standard 2D video, so I adjusted the Auto Motion Plus based on forum comments (Blur at 10, Judder at 3). The picture looks normal again, and the fast motion is no longer jerky. I recommend making this change, or going crazy watching strange, unnatural video. It might sound silly, but this adjustment is night and day!

IMPORTANT: All documentation about this TV’s wall mount size is incorrect. Maybe the 2010 model took VESA 400×400, but this 2011 TV takes VESA 200×200.

NETWORK UPDATE: Unless I misread something, there is not supposed to be a LAN port on this model. Just look at the specs for inputs, no LAN port. But this 2011 model does have a LAN port and it works perfectly. I hooked up an old D-Link DWL-G820 as a wireless access point (gaming adapter) and the TV now has Internet. Still loving this TV!!!!

Excellent 3D LED TV, internet ready & great apps (Netflix!)

 August 19, 2011
By Patrick
This is a fully-featured, 3D capable, internet ready, LED TV from Samsung.

First, a quick comparison of similar models:
– The D6300 model (Samsung UN55C6300 55-Inch 1080p 120 Hz LED HDTV (Black)) does not have 3D capabilities.
– The D6400 model (Samsung UN60D6400 60-Inch 1080p 120Hz 3D LED HDTV (Black))has 3D and wired-internet and you can purchase an optional WiFi adapter.
– The D6500 model (Samsung UN60D6500 60-Inch 1080p 120HZ 3D LED TV (Black)) has 3D and is wifi ready.

In selecting a TV I wanted one that had good quality, was 3D ready, was internet ready (particularly for netflix streaming), and was aesthetically pleasing. This TV met all of those features. My location was close enough to run a wire to the router so I did not need WiFi, making the 6400 the model for me.

Out of the box, the picture was great. After spending a little time and adjusting the picture settings, the image is fantastic. Blacks are dark and colors are bright. There is no blur in fast action scenes, thanks in part to the 120Hz refresh rate. There are several preset selections and a myriad of settings to adjust if you want to further customize your picture.

The 3D function works amazingly well. The tv uses active 3D glasses, like Samsung SSG-3100GB 3D Active Glasses – Black (Only Compatible with 2011 3D TVs) (not included), and the picture is amazing. The 3D technology will likely continue to evolve, but the TVs with the best images are the 3D tvs, so even if you don’t care about 3D and you’re just looking for the best image, 3D is probably the way to go.

The TV has a simple recessed area for connections, making it easy to mount on a wall without interference from the plugs. There are plenty of inputs to keep you covered: 4HDMI inputs, as well component, composite, PC, and USB.

The TV is also energy efficient, exceeding EnergyStar standards with an estimated energy cost of only $17 per year.

The “Smart TV” feature is the internet capabilities. A dedicated button on the remote control brings up the internet menu, allowing you to select an app to run or to download new apps. Popular apps include Netflix, Pandora, Blockbuster, Hulu, YouTube, ESPN, as well as social networking with Facebook and Twitter. The Netflix app works quite well, allowing you to browse your queue and offering suggestions based on your viewing patterns. The streaming picture quality is also good. It’s not quite as good as a DVD, but I’ve not experienced any buffering or pauses in the playback.

Aesthetically, the TV is also quite nice. The ultra then bezel nearly disappears while viewing and makes the screen seem even larger than the already-large 60″ size. The included stand is also quite attractive if you are not planning on mounting the TV. The TV does have standard mounting points, making it quite easy to hang this TV on a wall or mount it in a stand.

Overall, I’m quite impressed with this TV. I’ve not yet experienced anything negative. The TV is full-featured but the interface is simple and intuitive. The picture is amazing and the 3D capability and internet apps should meet the expectations of nearly every user.

Awesome LED TV!

 April 10, 2011
By Anthony Gomulka "Tony"
My family just redid our family room and it was time to throw out our old CRT TV…My parents don’t know anything about tech so they asked me what would be a good TV to buy. I chose this one. I’m happy with it. :D

I got a small nettop with this TV with the intent of using it as a HTPC to stream video from our other HTPC in the basement and surf the web. The picture looks nice! :D I fired up a 1080p rip of The Dark Knight with all the lights off and the picture was nice and crisp. One thing I noticed is picture looks unnaturally smooth. I honestly don’t know if its a good thing. I haven’t bothered looking into it, but I want to believe its the motion plus. According to the other review, its something you can just turn off, so no foul. :)I love the ultra thin bezel. Other TVs say they are like 37″ when the actual screen size is only 32″, obviously just an attempt to cut down on production costs. With this TV, there’s none of that. :D

The sound quality is good. Its enough to play any movie at a good volume without distortion in a smaller room. I had XBMC going and I was playing some of my heavy electro, it sounds great, except the fact that the sound lacks the strong bass. But how can I complain? Its a TV. Not a sound system.

As far as the other review pointing out the edge lit “weakness” I have to stand about a foot away from the TV to see a very small amount of light bleeding. I couldn’t even notice it sitting on the couch cruising the web. :)

This TV is great. I love it. I have no complaints. :D

–Things that might save you some headaches–

You need to turn the sharpness WAAAAAAAAAY down. Yea the other review has it at like 10, thats where mine is too.

For people plugging in a computer into this TV, don’t freak out when the picture over scans the desktop and it gets cut off all around the edges. You need to press menu, go to picture -> picture adjustment, then change the “picture size” from 16:9 to “fit screen”. This is not the only TV I’ve had to change this setting on, but it really bothers me that manufactures don’t have that set as default. Because people will resort to changing the desktop resolution to something lower, than complain about how the picture looks fuzzy. (Sorry mini rant) :D

We all mounted our TV. The wall mount kit that we bought didn’t have the right length screws for this TV. You need an 8x25mm screw. Had to run to the hardware store to grab some. :( Make sure you have some washers on hand to avoid torquing into the back of the TV. :)

Complete accessory set up shopping list

 August 14, 2011
By Gregory "M"
After weeks of research, I have ultimately found the greatest combination for 3D home viewing entertainment and it is written here to help you easily put together a stunning 3D home theater system in a snap. This I wish would have existed to help me consolidate an A plus television combo. Here is my list to you for one of the best television experiences you’ll have, including the option to invite 3D films and images into your living room right in front of you. This is a bit lengthy but super informative.
Copy and paste the headers into the Amazon search field to find the recommended products being reviewed.

** Samsung UN55D6400 55-inch 1080p 120Hz 3D LED HDTV **
Start with the 3D LED television size of choice. A big one is the best. We purchased this 55-inch screen without regret. From many angles Samsung is the leader in clarity, bright streaming color, sharp imaging, plus the most up to date features on the market today. This television does it all minus a built in processor for accessing the Internet. Which is no big deal because there is a PC input port where you can connect a PC and set up a wireless keyboard and mouse to then use the television as a computer Monitor. HDMI and USB ports galore as well as standard connections for those out of date devises. This Television also has a specific button on the hand held remote that allows standard movies to be upgraded in 3D. Mind you it is not as superior as the actual movie filmed in 3D, but it is pretty darn close. The remote is back lighted and easy to use.

** Samsung SSG-3100GB 3D Active Glasses **
The best choice in 3D viewing glasses as they work in conjunction with the 2011 Samsung Televisions. These are battery operated so eventually a battery replacement will be required, however inexpensive compared to other versions and perfect for getting started at a reasonable price. These we chose because they actually communicate with the television. When 3D is activated or a 3D DVD is detected in playback mode, a splash screen on the monitor will advise you to switch the glasses on. When you stop the 3D Movie or return to standard 1080 TV viewing, the glasses automatically turn off. A great feature. No worries of leaving them on and wearing down the battery. Rechargeable glasses are available from Samsung, but if you have a large family, it can get a bit pricey, so these battery operated glasses are great for starting out even if there is only one or two pair needed. They are lightweight and accessorized with a cleaning swatch. Store them out of sight in a felt lined book box to keep them clean and damage free. I picked up a box that resembles a leather bound book from a craft store and it houses them perfectly and sits on the shelf with the other books.

** LG LHB536 1100s 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System with Smart TV integrated Wi-Fi. **
I know it is not a Samsung, but this one had all the features to provide a great sound experience and more. This unit actually boasted the best sound over Samsung or any other brand at a midway price. This system is serious. It allows all your necessary devices to be connected to it with the need to only connect a single HDMI cable to the television. This is set up brilliantly and speaks perfectly with the Samsung Television and satellite accessories. This thing also reaches out to my home computer and displays all my shared network files on the television screen. Photos, Movies…. anything stored on your home PC can be transferred to the television screen wirelessly with the internal Wi-Fi connection. It also has the capability of connecting your PC to it for direct Internet access. Cool, I know. The one thing I really liked about this unit is I was not guessing at sound selection as with other brands. This selects the best overall surround sound and transmits it to the speakers. When a Blu-ray disc is played, HD standard or 3D, the sound is absolutely incredible. There are several speaker modes that can be manually set, such as Natural, Voice Clarity, Movie mode and best of all Equalizer. Each speaker has a volume control as well to optimize the sound per speaker depending on where you are sitting. All the speaker settings are saved until you choose to make a change. No need to set them each time you flip on the tele. On that note, the Television and Theater System returns to the last setting you turned it off at when you switch it back on again at a later time. Others take you back to a home menu and requires a few steps at selecting your choice of TV viewing, music, radio or DVD. That was way too annoying. This LG is much better as you go to the Home screen by depressing the Home button only. Aps are also available on this unit. IPod connection comes with it too. The remote control is simple to use as with any. The receiver has a few necessary soft touch keys that in my opinion should have been illuminated. They are not lit, so the DVD functions, such as eject, play and indexing forward and reverse from the receiver are a bit difficult in a low lit setting. The panels soft touch keys are not used much anyway as the remote control is ultimately the control center. This is the ONLY teensy disappointment I found with this system. Most other players had this same issue. Rectified easily by using the hand held remote control.

** Mediabridge Ultra Series – High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet **
This 10.2gbps HDMI Cable is fast enough to flawlessly transmits 3D images from your devises to the 3D television. This cable supports the Highest Refresh Rates Available. This includes – Transfer Rates of Up to 340Mhz or 10.2gbps – True HD Dolby 7.1 and DTS-HD Master Audio – Ethernet Channel For Sharing Internet Between HDMI Devices. We purchased three additional cables because it worked so beautifully. Nothing wrong with a spare or two.
You will need one that connects the Satellite or cable box to the LG Home Theater system and one between the home Theater to the Samsung Television. This will give you Ultimate picture and sound at a prices WAY below any brand if purchased at a local electronics store. These work perfectly and you will not be overspending.

** Monster HTS 1000 MKIII 8-Outlet Power Center With Clean Power stage2 **
This I recommend, as it will act as a power surge protector during storms and unexpected bursts of dirty power sent to your electronic units. It handles up to 8 devises as well as your Coaxial cable (included) and an Ethernet connection (not included). This Power Center also reduces the electrical noise that can channel to all your electronics that are connected to it, which will increase the life of your units by years. This I suggest for all that is listed above especially your LED TV. The LED electronic devices need and survive on clean power. Trust me, I have learned from experience. This will save your products from harm and add years of use beyond the manufactures documented life expectancy.

Amazing Potential, Some Minor Complaints

 December 27, 2011
By Del Mar
To start, I’ll offer you my calibration settings I found on the AVS forums, copied over from Cnet’s site:

–Picture menu
Mode: Movie
Backlight: 12
Contrast: 92
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 0
Color: 48
Tint: G50/R50

Screen adjustment submenu:
Picture Size: Screen Fit
Position: [no change]

Eco Solution submenu:
Energy Saving: Off
Eco Sensor: Off
No Signal Power Off: Off

Auto Adjustment and Screen submenus: [Grayed out]

Advanced settings submenu
Black tone: Off
Dynamic contrast: Off
Shadow Detail: +2
Gamma: +1
Expert Pattern: Off
RGB Only Mode: Off
Color space: Custom
White Balance: [see below]
10p White Balance: On
Flesh tone: 0
Edge enhancement: Off
Motion Lighting: Off
xvYCC: Off
LED Motion Plus: On

Color Space submenu:
Red: Red 59, Green 5, Blue 0
Green: Red 20, Green 55, Blue 3
Blue: Red 0, Green 5, Blue 100
Yellow: Red 57, Green 50, Blue 0
Cyan: Red 14, Green 51, Blue 55
Magenta: Red 50, Green 5, Blue 59

White balance submenu:
R-Offset: 24
G-Offset: 25
B-Offset: 26
R-Gain: 31
G-Gain: 25
B-Gain: 25

10p White Balance submenu:
Interval 1: Red 5, Green 4, Blue 4
Interval 2: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
Interval 3: Red 1, Green 1, Blue 2
Interval 4: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
Interval 5: Red 2, Green 2, Blue 1
Interval 6: Red 0, Green 1, Blue 0
Interval 7: Red 1, Green 1, Blue 1
Interval 8: Red 2, Green 2, Blue 3
Interval 9: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 1
Interval 10: Red 0, Green 0, Blue 3

Picture options submenu
Color tone: Warm2
Digital Noise Filter: Off
MPEG Noise Filter: Off
HDMI black level: Normal [grayed out]
Film mode: Off [grayed out]
Auto motion plus: Custom
– Custom settings:
Blur reduction: 10
Judder reduction: 0

-End Calibration Guide-

Note: USE HDMI PORT 3 — It makes a huge difference, though I’m not sure why.

With that out of the way…

Physical aesthetics:

B-E-A-utiful. Tiny glossy black frame with an unnoticeable clear (plastic?) bevel edge. Against a dark wall, you’d only recognize the screen’s edge due to the video images coming to an abrupt halt. Wide, sturdy brushed-metal style base that’s only slightly annoying to put together, though not difficult or really inconvenient. Screen can potentially have a slight sheen to it, but this time of the year (winter) I’m not getting any direct sunlight on it.

Image Quality:

Amazing picture. Vivid colors, deep dark blacks, bright, light whites. Really, truly phenomenal, whether in a brightly lit room during the day or midnight darkness. I did notice some very minor motion blur in the bottom middle of my screen, maybe 2-3 inches wide at times, but the images that blur there are usually complex items (say, a cell phone with buttons showing). No noticeable flashlighting, no recognizable edge-bleed. Netflix streaming HD movies look amazing, and HD channel broadcasts are stunning, be they NFL football games or a show on TNT like The Closer. I’ve been going through, rewatching older movies, everything from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom to 2009’s Star Trek, and they all look phenomenal, regardless of their source (DVD, streaming, or television).

Controls & Settings:

Auto-adjusts picture for cable channels, has a mountain of visual adjustments (see top of this review), great remote overflowing with options, and easy to follow guides.

Sound:

Rating sound, this Samsung would probably receive 1 star from me. The vertical speaker bar (built in, obviously) runs along the top back of the unit, projecting its empty sounds against the wall. In an enclosed room you may manage to pick up decent sound through wall-bounces, but for anyone without a component system, you’ll have the volume turned waaay up, just to hear characters effectively speaking in the next room. If you don’t have a component system, expect to shell out anywhere from $50-$300 for an audiobar to direct sounds toward you.

General Negatives: Sound is horrible and some/most of the Samsung audiobars will not work with the Samsung television remote. Were it not for the Harmony One remote I purchased, I’d be stuck using an additional remote. 3d-capable screen, but no 3d glasses included. Setup isn’t difficult, but image quality suffers if you’re not running general video through HDMI3. A lot of people miss that. Additionally, you’ll have to spend around 75 bucks to purchase the Samsung Wifi adapter if you wish to update your software or firmware. I believe the wifi also controls most of the smarthub content… so keep that in mind if you’re planning on using Netflix, Pandora, or other services through your television. Between sounds and wifi, you’re looking at a potential $300+ added to the cost of the television if you want to really enjoy it for all it’s worth.

Overall though, I really do love the UN40D6400. 4 stars.

Great Looking TV

 May 23, 2011
By blue 9 yun
Pros: Great picture quality out of the box, super slim bezel, SmartTV apps are good but somewhat limited.
Cons: It should have come with built-in WIFI.

I didn’t buy Samsung’s expensive LinkStick, instead got a Asus WL-330GE working as a wifi adapter(it’s 4-in-1 router/repeater etc.) which is working out great for me: cheap, light weight, and can be powered by USB.